Fibroid Removal

Fibroid Removal

Normally, fibroids are considered to be noncancerous growths of the uterus. The size of the fibroids ranges from tiny to bulky masses that can distort and enlarge the uterus. There are chances of having a single fibroid or multiple ones.

Based on the size and location of the fibroids, the decision of medical management or surgery is taken. If it is a submucosal fibroid, then it has to be surgically removed. Whereas intramural or small fibroids do not require surgical removal. Not all fibroids show particular signs, but large fibroids have symptoms and need to be removed surgically.

Types of fibroid removal surgery

There are four types of fibroid removal surgery. It includes hysteroscopic myomectomy, laparoscopic myomectomy, laparotomy, and vaginally. Surgery is recommended based on the location and size of the fibroid.

Hysteroscopic myomectomy - This procedure is performed when the fibroids are inside the uterine cavity or submucosal. The fibroid is recepted using instruments inserted through the vagina and cervix into the uterus.

Laparoscopic myomectomy - This is indicated for specific locations, accessibility & size of the fibroids. So that myomectomy is performed safely without any complications.

Laparotomy - Open abdominal incision is made to access & remove the fibroids.

Vaginally - Only cervical fibroids can be removed vaginally.

Removing fibroids before IVF treatment helps in better implantation in some specific cases. Myomectomy is indicated in very selected cases of  IVF patients.

Recovery period

Hysteroscopic myomectomy has the fastest recovery. Whereas, In other surgical procedures, the recovery period is longer.IVF is performed after a proper recovery period which may vary from 3 months to 1 year depending on the type of surgery.